Blog Posts

Favorites / J. H. Danville

“Gun/Shy” by Detroit’s own Jim Daniels is remarkable poetic storytelling. It opens with a description of him being held up at gunpoint at 16 while working in Warren. From there it takes the reader on a journey through growing up, growing older and reflecting on the world. “My whole life, I’ve been one letter off, for better, / for worse.” Daniels compares his life to other kids from the same part of town: “…we worked at the same factories/made the same money.” He often draws back to the imagery and experience of being held up, using it to reflect on his American experience. The last stanza shakes me every time, both for its content and its poetic elegance.
J. H. Danville

Favorites / Catherine McGeehan

Naomi Shihab Nye—“Kindness”–

     Naomi Shihab Nye’s poem, “Kindness,” has been for me both a source of inspiration and solace. In this poem she takes us with her on an ordinary bus ride to remind us that “Before you know what kindness really is/you must lose things.” I have a sister who is terminally ill and it seems all I have to give her right now is kindness. But Nye tells us in this poem that kindness is the only thing “that makes sense anymore,” that it can go with us “everywhere/like a shadow or a friend.” In addition to this being a beautiful poem, it is a fine example of how poetry can bring grace when it seems there is none. 

Catherine McGeehan

Submission Call – Peninsula Poets

Call for Submissions

Peninsula Poets Spring 2023 (Members Edition)
December 15, 2022 – February 1, 2023

Members only! You must be a member in good standing with your dues paid thru 2023. If you are unsure of your standing, you can contact

Send up to 3 unpublished poems in a single file (.doc or docx format only)
one poem per page with your contact information on each page
email as an attachment to

If you don’t have email mail your poems to:
PSM Spring Edition
PO Box 1035
Cadillac, MI 49601
(Must be postmarked by midnight February 1, 2023)

If you have any questions send an email to Debra Belcher at
Visit for full membership details.
We are looking forward to reading your work!

Cover Photo Submissions:

We are aware of the wealth of artistic talent beyond poetry among our membership. We would love to include your artwork, painting, drawing, pottery, quilting, stained glass, even doodles or simple line drawings for chapter pages! Please send .jpg photos of your work so we can make a collage or quilt style cover and headings for chapters. JPEG files should be at a resolution of at least 300 dots-per-inch.  Email your submission as an attachment to

Favorites / Jerry Lang

  “The Garden” – Andrew Marvell

As a lifetime gardener, I can’t help but admire Marvell’s “The Garden,” with its metaphorical twists and turns reflecting on themes of human vainglory, nature’s gifts of calm meditative repose, and Biblical references. My introduction to the poem was at a project meeting when it was read by a landscape architect describing a garden design. My favorite part of the poem is in the sixth stanza.

The mind, that ocean where each kind
Does straight its own resemblance find,
Yet it creates, transcending these,
Far other worlds, and other seas;
Annihilating all that’s made
To a green thought in a green shade. 

 Yes to annihilating all this world’s strivings, trials, and even joys into a green thought in a green shade. Yes to getting back mentally and physically to our home in the natural world!

Jerry Lang

Favorites / Janice Zerfas

On Visiting Herbert Hoover’s Birth and Burial Place by Thomas Lux 

 I admire Thomas Lux’s villanelle, “On Visiting Herbert Hoover’s Birth and Burial Place,” especially because the conversational banal tone hides misfortune. At the prairie’s edge, tents flourish, a reference to Hoovervilles. His message is still relevant: “What you spent was what you earned and not a dime in banks accrued.” Like then, “so many people can’t pay their rent.” The speaker is also humble, saying if he is wrong, he ‘repent[s], but don’t too many people dream of meat in their soup?” The greater divide between rich and poor—“some eat white bread, some get screwed”— due to greed is repeated. But would we, if in power, make any difference? The confusing syntax in the middle asks, “. . . how, can we prevent our oblivion?”

Janice Zerfas

Favorites / Elizabeth Kerlikowske

I love Sir Thomas Wyatt’s poem “They Flee from Me” and I find it so intriguing that I assigned it in every class I taught for many years.  “They flee from me who sometime did me seek.” Oh, well, who hasn’t felt that?  Ostracized again! He likens his courtly companions to deer, and they’re apt comparisons. I see a lot of deer. Bonus: it’s the first use of the term “newfangleness” in literature, which I thought was more newfangled than the 1500’s. Although he ends up jilted, he has made me love him. Link to They Flee from Me.

Favorites / David James

Degrees of Gray in Philipsburg — Richard Hugo

Hugo was an early hero of mine. He still is. His poems are rich and thick with imagery, and they’re fun to read out loud. But he’s also a poet not afraid to journey close to the edge of sentimentality in his writing and then move away. To me, the very best poems, like this one, combine emotion with images, feeling with sensory details in a style that moves us when we read. It’s obvious that this little town, Philipsburg, triggers the poem for Hugo, but the writing takes us below the surface of the human condition, reaching toward truth.

– David James